Healing Winds

MIT Wind Ensemble

June 01, 2021 | 07:00 pm
Free & Open to the Public


Healing Winds—MIT Wind Ensemble

Frederick Harris, Jr., Music Director

Kenneth Amis, Assistant Conductor

LiveStream Virtual Concert

The innovative MIT Wind Ensemble presents its final concert of the 20-21 academic year with music by Gershwin, Piazzolla, Fauré, Satie, Byrd, Manuel de Falla, and others. This program of works for small and large woodwind, brass, and percussion ensembles, also features the world premiere of Fanfares by Boston-based composer Cody Forrest, and a special performance of Into the Silent Land by Steve Danyew. 
This concert is dedicated to all of the essential workers throughout the pandemic, those who have suffered or have been lost, and to the spirit of empathy and resilience embodied by so many.