The MIT mission is to serve humanity, and the arts provide a
powerful way for our students to grow in knowledge and
understanding of the human condition.
— Marcus Thompson, Robert R. Taylor Professor of Music

Explore The Collection

The Listening Room is an online collection of music composed and/or performed by MIT’s renowned Music faculty and student-musicians (many of whom choose to study in MIT's conservatory-level Emerson Scholars Program.) The 64 current recordings are presented in four musical categories — Classical, Jazz, World, and Faculty Opus. These recordings exemplify the arts at MIT, which are rooted in experimentation, excellence, and imaginative problem-solving.
To explore the collection, click on any of the four channels above, or choose from the Listening Room channel links on the navigation bar to the left.