The Heart is a Bell

Iva Bittová with the MIT Symphony Orchestra

October 10, 2019 | 05:00 pm

The Heart is a Bell: Iva Bittová with MITSO

Evan Ziporyn, Guest Conductor

MIT Symphony Orchestra (MITSO) opens its 2019-20 season as part of the MIT Sounding series with vocalist/violinist/composer Iva Bittová, joined by Keala Kaumeheiwa (bass), Austin McMahon (drums), Phil Sargent (guitar), and Venkatesh Sivaraman (piano) 



• Vítězslava Kaprálová, Suita Rustica

• Evan Ziporyn, Frog’s Eye

• Iva Bittová, Zvon (US premiere) (Iva Bittová, voice and solo violin)

This is the first MITSO concert of the season with Evan Ziporyn as Guest Conductor. The concert is part of the MIT Sounding series.

Composed over 75 years apart, Kaprálová’s Suita Rustica and Bittová’s Zvon pull from their parallel yet distinct musical and cultural backgrounds to create orchestral tapestries merging Czech folk art with urbane modernity. Together they exemplify the ongoing ways in which composition can fiercely assert identity and difference.




Don't miss a downbeat! Click here to subscribe to the Events Newsletter.