IAP Orchestra

February 03, 2023 | 08:00 pm

Kresge Auditorium | Free and Open to the Public
February 03, 2023 | 08:00 pm

The MIT IAP Orchestra performs Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony No. 8, conducted by Tristan Shin ‘23. Dvořák composed this symphony in 1889 to celebrate his election to the Bohemian Academy of Science, Literature and Arts. The symphony is in four movements and lasts around 38 minutes.

The IAP Orchestra was founded in the Fall of 2012 by Daniel Zhang to give MIT students the chance to perform in an orchestra during Independent Activities Period (IAP) under the baton of a student conductor. This is the first performance of the IAP Orchestra since January 2020.

Tristan Shin, Director