Yukiko Sekino, pianist

March 06, 2016 - 4:00pm

Emerson Instructor Yukiko Sekino will present a piano recital featuring:

Haydn, Sonata in A Major, Hob. XVI/12
Rachmaninoff, Elégie, Op. 3, No. 1 and Etude-Tableau in E-flat Minor, Op. 39, No. 5
Dai Fujikura, Piano Studies Nos. 1 and 2
Chopin, Four Ballades


About the pianist
Praised for her “thrilling, inspirational performance” (Florida Sun-Sentinel) and “elegance of line, leaping energy” (San Jose Mercury News), pianist Yukiko Sekino is noted for her performances of Beethoven, Rachmaninoff, and Scriabin and performs some of the most challenging twentieth and twenty-first century works. The Gold Medalist of the 2006 International Russian Music Piano Competition and a 2010 winner of the S&R Foundation’s Washington Award, Sekino also won the Jackson Prize at Tanglewood Music Center, the JAA Music Award in New York, and the Mu Phi Epsilon International Music Competition. She debuted with the Boston Symphony Orchestra at age sixteen, and has since performed with various orchestras and in recitals in Washington, D.C., Chicago, in Philadelphia, Northeast Asia, China, and many U.S. college campuses. An avid chamber musician and new music performer, Sekino has been invited to Tanglewood Music Center, and to the Thy Masterclass (Denmark), and Kneisel Hall chamber music festivals.  In 2013, she was the piano soloist in Elliott Carter’s Double Concerto for Piano and Harpsichord in Zankel Hall at Carnegie Hall. Sekino is a graduate of Harvard University and The Juilliard School, and holds a doctoral degree from State University of New York at Stony Brook.  Her teachers include Gilbert Kalish, Seymour Lipkin, Robert Levin, and Eda Shlyam. 

Upcoming Events

Jamshied Sharifi
October 18, 2018 - 5:00pm
Free & Open to the Public
Sharifi is a composer, musician, and former MIT visiting artist who received a 2018 Tony Award for best orchestrations on the record-breaking Broadway hit “The Band’s Visit.” Sharifi will present current works in a talk with a question and answer session.   Sharifi graduated from MIT with...
Infinite Winds: Innovative Music from MIT and Beyond
October 26, 2018 - 8:00pm
Free & Open to the Public
Infinite Winds:  Innovative Music from MIT and Beyond  MIT Wind Ensemble & MIT Festival Jazz Ensemble Frederick Harris, music director, Kenneth Amis, assistant conductor This special MIT annual event celebrates innovative music originating from MIT faculty and beyond. The prog...