MIT Wind Ensemble
Waking Winds: Innovative Music from MIT
Created April 27, 2018 - 5:43pm

April 28, 2018


MIT Wind Ensemble
Frederick Harris, Jr., Music Director
Kenneth Amis, Assistant Conductor

Awakening by Jamshied Sharifi, guest composer; Concerto for Clarinet and Wind Ensemble by Don Byron, with Evan Ziporyn, guest clarinet soloist; Strawberry Letter 23 (Shuggie Otis, arr. Ziporyn); Insurgence for Percussion Ensemble by Kathryn Salfelder; music for Saxophone Ensemble, and a special tribute to renowned Belmont (MA) music educator John McLellan.

Please join the MIT Wind Ensemble in its 2017-2018 season finale, featuring MIT alumnus and composer Jamshied Sharifi’s Awakening, a moving and thought-provoking piece commissioned by MITWE in 2011 in recognition of the Arab Spring, Don Bryon’s fascinating Concerto for Clarinet and Wind Ensemble with soloist Evan Ziporyn, Kathryn Salfelder’s Insurgence, her new work for percussion ensemble, music for clarinet and saxophone ensembles, and a very special tribute to renowned and beloved Belmont music educator (and frequent collaborator with MITWE), John McLellan.